Canadian Chess Biographies

Researched, compiled, written and copyright 2000-18 by David Cohen. Last updated: 2020.1.15.
Main web site & contact: Canadian Chess.

More biographies

Index A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W Y Z

Index - M

Daniel MacAdam


Daniel MacAdam

Photo: Year Book 1946-47: Chess Federation of Canada.

Source: Bulletin 2, 1974.01-02, Chess Federation of Canada, p. 13.

Contributor: Lynn Stringer.

Charles Macdonald


Source: P. B. Waite, Dictionary of Canadian Biography, 1901-1910 Volume XIII, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2000

David MacLeod

Donald R. MacLeod

Nicholas M. MacLeod


Nicholas MacLeod

Photo: Western Chess Association, 1901.

Nicholas MacLeod - J.W. Baird
New York, NY, USA 1889, Round 21

Contributors: Family of Nicholas MacLeod (photo); Michael Dougherty, Stephen Wright.

Research note: There were several players named MacLeod, and the record of who accomplished what is not always clear. N.M. MacLeod is sometimes incorrectly referred to as 'N.W. MacLeod'. This is probably a mix up of Nicholas MacLeod and William MacLeod. Both players were born in Quebec City, Quebec; both moved to Minnesota, USA.

William D.R. MacLeod


John MacPhail

John MacPhail

Photo: copyright 2004 by the photographer David Cohen.

Elod Macskasy


Elod Macskasy

Photo: 1969 Canadian Championship, Pointe Claire, Quebec. Chess Canada 1970.07.

Lloyd Mai

  • 2011 Tied record for most times national scholastic champion, 8
  • 2011 Canadian Grade 12 Champion
  • 2010 Canadian Grade 11 Champion
  • 2006 Set record for most consecutive national scholastic championships, 6
  • 2006 Canadian Grade 7 Champion
  • 2005 Canadian Under-12 Champion
  • 2005 Canadian Grade 6 Champion
  • 2004 Canadian Grade 5 Champion
  • 2003 Canadian Under-10 Champion
  • 2003 Canadian Grade 4 Champion
  • 2002 Canadian Grade 3 Champion
  • 2001 Canadian Grade 2 Champion

    Michael Marantz

    (Mikhail Marants)

    Aris Marghetis

    Aris Marghetis

    Photo: copyright 2010 by Aris Marghetis.

    Frank Marshall


    Harry Pillsbury - Frank Marshall
    Blindfold simultaneous exhibition by Pillsbury, Montreal, Quebec, 1893

    Frank Marshall - Robert Short
    Montreal Club Championship, Montreal, Quebec, 1894

    Marshall's three most famous games, including his introduction of the Marshall Gambit in the Ruy Lopez opening:

    Frank Marshall - Amos Burn
    Paris, France, 1900

    This game contains what Marshall described as 'the most elegant move I have ever played!', giving his last move a '!!!' in his annotations:

    Stepan Lewitzky - Frank Marshall
    Breslau, Poland, 1912

    Jose Capablanca - Frank Marshall
    New York, NY, USA, 1918

    Source: Marshall's Best Games of Chess (My Fifty Years of Chess) by Frank Marshall, 1942

    Anthony (Tony) Marsland

    Robert Martin


    Robert Martin

    Photo: 1935 Canadian Championship, Canadian Chess Championship Tournament 1935, 1935.

    Paul Mascarene

    (Jean-Paul Mascarene)

    Source: Maxwell Sutherland, Dictionary of Canadian Biography, 1741-1770 Volume III, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2000

    Agnieszka Matras-Clement

    A.H. McCallum

    Patrick McDonald

    Contributor: Patrick McDonald

    Fanhao Meng

    Goran Mikanovic

    Goran Mikanovic

    Photo: copyright 2004 by the photographer David Cohen.

    Marcel Milat

    Dragoljub Milicevic

    Goran Milicevic

    Goran Milicevic

    Photo: Copyright 2003 by the photographer Erik Malmsten.

    The following game won the Brilliancy Prize donated in memory of Bryon Nickoloff:

    Goran Milicevic - Mark Bluvshtein
    Canadian Championship, Toronto, Ontario, Round 7, 2004.08.26

    Charles Millar


    Charles Millar

    Photo: 1951 Canadian Championship, Vancouver.

    Contributor: family of Frank Anderson (photo); Stephen Wright, BCCF Bulletin #127, 2007.09.10.

    Diane Mongeau

    Thomas Moore

    John Morrison


    John Morrison

    Photo: The Book of the London International Chess Congress 1922, edited by W.H. Watts, 1924.

    Defeated World Championship challenger David Janowski and future World Champion Max Euwe:

    John S. Morrison - David Janowski
    New York, 1918

    John S. Morrison - Max Euwe
    London International Chess Congress, Masters Tournament, London, England, 1922, Round 5

    Robert Morrison

    Leo Moser


    The following last round game won the Brilliancy Prize:

    Leo Moser - D. Abraham Yanofsky
    Canadian Championship, Winnipeg, Manitoba, 1941, Round 11

    Moe Moss


    Artur Mrugala

    Walter Muir


    M.J. Murphy

    Source: Chess Personalia by Jeremy Gaige.